A Home cinema forum. HomeCinemaBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HomeCinemaBanter forum » Home cinema newsgroups » UK digital tv
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Labgear Tri-Boom Mast Digital Aerial (or similar)



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 26th 18, 07:38 PM posted to uk.tech.digital-tv
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6
Default Labgear Tri-Boom Mast Digital Aerial (or similar)

First post - I have a TV aerial that looks the same shape as the Labgear Tri-Boom Mast Digital Aerial - https://www.screwfix.com/p/labgear-t...l-aerial/60215

The topmost part of the rear reflector (?) wobbles by about 25mm as it appears to rotate at its connection point to the main horizontal component. The aerial feeds a splitter/distribution box and we are getting an intermittent broken picture on one of the two TVs that it supplies.

Is the loose part likely to be the cause of the problem, can it be taped/cable tied still or does the aerial need to be replaced?

Many thanks

Martin

  #2  
Old September 26th 18, 07:41 PM posted to uk.tech.digital-tv
Brian Gaff
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,322
Default Labgear Tri-Boom Mast Digital Aerial (or similar)

Well I'd suggest if you can going up and having a closer look. If you are
going to need to fix the loose reflector maybe some other less visible
issues exist as well. It all depends where you are how far away you are and
if the channels have moved recently and of course if one of your systems is
a little poorer than the rest. How old is it?
Brian

--
----- --
This newsgroup posting comes to you directly from...
The Sofa of Brian Gaff...

Blind user, so no pictures please
Note this Signature is meaningless.!
wrote in message
...
First post - I have a TV aerial that looks the same shape as the Labgear
Tri-Boom Mast Digital Aerial -
https://www.screwfix.com/p/labgear-t...l-aerial/60215

The topmost part of the rear reflector (?) wobbles by about 25mm as it
appears to rotate at its connection point to the main horizontal component.
The aerial feeds a splitter/distribution box and we are getting an
intermittent broken picture on one of the two TVs that it supplies.

Is the loose part likely to be the cause of the problem, can it be
taped/cable tied still or does the aerial need to be replaced?

Many thanks

Martin


  #3  
Old September 26th 18, 07:53 PM posted to uk.tech.digital-tv
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6
Default Labgear Tri-Boom Mast Digital Aerial (or similar)

The aerial is about 4 - 5 years old, I need to go onto the roof for something else so it makes sense to have a look whilst I'm up there.

The TV which seems to experience the problems is a Panasonic that's about 12+ years old, the Samsung UE55C7000 which is about 7 years old doesn't. My next step was to check and perhaps swap the connections on the distribution box, the problem is however intermittent so it may take a while to evaluate the impact of any change

I've had a look at the signal strength and quality info but don't know how to interpret it.

I've tried 're-scanning' the channels but that didn't solve the problem.

Thanks

Martin
Martin

  #4  
Old September 26th 18, 08:29 PM posted to uk.tech.digital-tv
Bill Wright[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,949
Default Labgear Tri-Boom Mast Digital Aerial (or similar)

On 26/09/2018 19:38, wrote:
First post - I have a TV aerial that looks the same shape as the Labgear Tri-Boom Mast Digital Aerial -
https://www.screwfix.com/p/labgear-t...l-aerial/60215

The topmost part of the rear reflector (?) wobbles by about 25mm as it appears to rotate at its connection point to the main horizontal component. The aerial feeds a splitter/distribution box and we are getting an intermittent broken picture on one of the two TVs that it supplies.

Is the loose part likely to be the cause of the problem, can it be taped/cable tied still or does the aerial need to be replaced?

Many thanks

Martin


The make of aerial most prone to losing the top half of the reflector is
also prone to water getting into the junction box and then down the coax.

Bill
  #5  
Old September 26th 18, 08:38 PM posted to uk.tech.digital-tv
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6
Default Labgear Tri-Boom Mast Digital Aerial (or similar)

On Wednesday, September 26, 2018 at 8:29:46 PM UTC+1, wrote:
On 26/09/2018 19:38, wrote:
First post - I have a TV aerial that looks the same shape as the Labgear Tri-Boom Mast Digital Aerial -
https://www.screwfix.com/p/labgear-t...l-aerial/60215

The topmost part of the rear reflector (?) wobbles by about 25mm as it appears to rotate at its connection point to the main horizontal component. The aerial feeds a splitter/distribution box and we are getting an intermittent broken picture on one of the two TVs that it supplies.

Is the loose part likely to be the cause of the problem, can it be taped/cable tied still or does the aerial need to be replaced?

Many thanks

Martin


The make of aerial most prone to losing the top half of the reflector is
also prone to water getting into the junction box and then down the coax.

Bill


Any suggestions for a better quality replacement?
Many thanks
  #6  
Old September 26th 18, 08:51 PM posted to uk.tech.digital-tv
Woody[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,954
Default Labgear Tri-Boom Mast Digital Aerial (or similar)

On Wed 26/09/2018 20:38, wrote:
On Wednesday, September 26, 2018 at 8:29:46 PM UTC+1, wrote:
On 26/09/2018 19:38,
wrote:
First post - I have a TV aerial that looks the same shape as the Labgear Tri-Boom Mast Digital Aerial -
https://www.screwfix.com/p/labgear-t...l-aerial/60215

The topmost part of the rear reflector (?) wobbles by about 25mm as it appears to rotate at its connection point to the main horizontal component. The aerial feeds a splitter/distribution box and we are getting an intermittent broken picture on one of the two TVs that it supplies.

Is the loose part likely to be the cause of the problem, can it be taped/cable tied still or does the aerial need to be replaced?

Many thanks

Martin


The make of aerial most prone to losing the top half of the reflector is
also prone to water getting into the junction box and then down the coax.

Bill


Any suggestions for a better quality replacement?
Many thanks


It would help all we readers if you can tell us where you are (roughly -
no addresses) and which transmitter you are using or if you don't know
then the direction of the aerial. Unless you are extreme fringe
realistically it is unlikely that you need such a large aerial. Given
the 700MHz clearance (i.e. all channels above 49 are being chopped off)
you might be better off with a log periodic if you have enough signal.



--
Woody

harrogate three at ntlworld dot com
  #7  
Old September 26th 18, 08:58 PM posted to uk.tech.digital-tv
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6
Default Labgear Tri-Boom Mast Digital Aerial (or similar)

On Wednesday, September 26, 2018 at 8:51:42 PM UTC+1, Woody wrote:
On Wed 26/09/2018 20:38, wrote:
On Wednesday, September 26, 2018 at 8:29:46 PM UTC+1, wrote:
On 26/09/2018 19:38,
wrote:
First post - I have a TV aerial that looks the same shape as the Labgear Tri-Boom Mast Digital Aerial -
https://www.screwfix.com/p/labgear-t...l-aerial/60215

The topmost part of the rear reflector (?) wobbles by about 25mm as it appears to rotate at its connection point to the main horizontal component. The aerial feeds a splitter/distribution box and we are getting an intermittent broken picture on one of the two TVs that it supplies.

Is the loose part likely to be the cause of the problem, can it be taped/cable tied still or does the aerial need to be replaced?

Many thanks

Martin


The make of aerial most prone to losing the top half of the reflector is
also prone to water getting into the junction box and then down the coax.

Bill


Any suggestions for a better quality replacement?
Many thanks


It would help all we readers if you can tell us where you are (roughly -
no addresses) and which transmitter you are using or if you don't know
then the direction of the aerial. Unless you are extreme fringe
realistically it is unlikely that you need such a large aerial. Given
the 700MHz clearance (i.e. all channels above 49 are being chopped off)
you might be better off with a log periodic if you have enough signal.



--
Woody

harrogate three at ntlworld dot com


Postcode CV7 7EP, I believ the transmitter is Sutton Coldfield, I have a picture of the current aerial but don't think I can post it here? The upper and lower 'rear reflectors' Each have 5 horizontal bars if that helps with identification (its the same shape/style as the labgear unit I mentioned and has yellow parts on each end of the rear element that I mentioned and on the main horizontal body.
Thanks
  #9  
Old September 26th 18, 09:31 PM posted to uk.tech.digital-tv
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6
Default Labgear Tri-Boom Mast Digital Aerial (or similar)

On Wednesday, September 26, 2018 at 9:14:47 PM UTC+1, wrote:
On 26/09/2018 20:58, wrote:
Postcode CV7 7EP, I believ the transmitter is Sutton Coldfield, I have a picture of the current aerial but don't think I can post it here? The upper and lower 'rear reflectors' Each have 5 horizontal bars if that helps with identification (its the same shape/style as the labgear unit I mentioned and has yellow parts on each end of the rear element that I mentioned and on the main horizontal body.
Thanks


Weirdly I did a bit of signal surveying in that area years ago. You
aren't far from having line-of-sight to Sutton C. about 12 miles away. A
log periodic will work fine.

But first check the obvious. Water in the cable, loose connections,
faulty splitter, faulty wall plate, damaged cable, faulty flylead (wall
to TV cable), etc. I take it there's no aerial amplifier in use?

Bill


Thanks - the feed from the aerial goes into a Wolsey WPS100/1 then into a Remotelink A280D.

If go go for the 'long periodic' are there any other elements to the specification? Is there a particular make that you would recommend? A daft question but will that be okay for digital - my first aerial that was fitted by Digital*ave (specialist) wasn't.

Thanks
  #10  
Old September 27th 18, 04:08 AM posted to uk.tech.digital-tv
Bill Wright[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,949
Default Labgear Tri-Boom Mast Digital Aerial (or similar)

On 26/09/2018 21:31, wrote:
On Wednesday, September 26, 2018 at 9:14:47 PM UTC+1, wrote:
On 26/09/2018 20:58,
wrote:
Postcode CV7 7EP, I believ the transmitter is Sutton Coldfield, I have a picture of the current aerial but don't think I can post it here? The upper and lower 'rear reflectors' Each have 5 horizontal bars if that helps with identification (its the same shape/style as the labgear unit I mentioned and has yellow parts on each end of the rear element that I mentioned and on the main horizontal body.
Thanks


Weirdly I did a bit of signal surveying in that area years ago. You
aren't far from having line-of-sight to Sutton C. about 12 miles away. A
log periodic will work fine.

But first check the obvious. Water in the cable, loose connections,
faulty splitter, faulty wall plate, damaged cable, faulty flylead (wall
to TV cable), etc. I take it there's no aerial amplifier in use?

Bill


Thanks - the feed from the aerial goes into a Wolsey WPS100/1 then into a Remotelink A280D.


Seems a bit over the top. Have you tried removing/bypassing the
WPS100/100? Or at least turning the gain up and down? How is it powered
by the way? Is it powered or is it just an expensive attenuator?

I'm wondering if the Wolsey amp if powered is overloading the Remotelink
amp and maybe even the TV set. You have between 18 and 33dB gain. That
could be far too much.


If go go for the 'long periodic'


log periodic. That's because they are made from tree trunks (ignore
that; I'm a bit ****ed)

are there any other elements to the specification? Is there a particular
make that you would recommend? A daft question but will that be okay for
digital - my first aerial that was fitted by Digital*ave (specialist)
wasn't.

Everything is OK for digital. Forget that.
https://cpc.farnell.com/blake-uk/bla...ial/dp/AP03352
Or ring ATV Sheffield, ask for Justin, mention my name.
http://aerialsandtv.com/

Bill



Thanks


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home made Tri Boom Yagi Mark Carver UK digital tv 1 April 20th 15 01:38 AM
Triax Tri-link modulator kit - any good? Other good modulators? [email protected] UK digital tv 7 September 2nd 11 07:46 AM
Labgear MSE113 aerial booster. ian field UK digital tv 25 July 28th 09 03:44 PM
Interference Problems with my new High Gain Labgear Aerial Pete UK digital tv 6 December 24th 03 04:32 PM
Directv Tri Lnb dish and adding a switch BillyBA Satellite dbs 1 October 17th 03 03:16 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 HomeCinemaBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.