A Home cinema forum. HomeCinemaBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HomeCinemaBanter forum » Home cinema newsgroups » UK sky
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Refitting old Sky Equip



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 22nd 06, 11:50 AM posted to uk.media.tv.sky
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3
Default Refitting old Sky Equip

If I refit my old Digibox (unused for about 2 years) and not plug in
the phone line. Will it work as a Freeview boc without having to buy a
Sky Freeview Card?

  #3  
Old November 22nd 06, 12:17 PM posted to uk.media.tv.sky
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3
Default Refitting old Sky Equip

Cheers. Will it need to be hooked up to the phone line for this "wake
up call" to arrive or will the software do this?

Will occasional phone hook ups be required to update the channels on
Freeview?

  #7  
Old November 23rd 06, 08:20 AM posted to uk.media.tv.sky
Jomtien
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 749
Default Refitting old Sky Equip

^^artnada^^ wrote:

Your software will be old but would still work.


The firmware in a 2-year old box is completely out of date and will
not function with a new card, nor will it allow reception of the radio
channels or those above 500 in the EPG.

The first thing to do before re-using this digibox is to remove any
card in the slot. The first thing to do once it is connected to a
working dish is to update the firmware. Then he can insert a
previously activated "house" card which should wake up within 12
hours.

--
Digibox problem? : A reboot solves 90% of these.
The Sky Digital FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/8vef5
UK TV overseas: http://tinyurl.com/6p73
BBC/ITV reception trouble? ; http://www.astra2d.com/
----
Only the truth as I see it.
No monies return'd. ;-)
  #8  
Old November 24th 06, 02:21 PM posted to uk.media.tv.sky
^^artnada^^
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 43
Default Refitting old Sky Equip

In ,
Jomtien quipped in an almost smooth criminal way:
^^artnada^^ wrote:

Your software will be old but would still work.


The firmware in a 2-year old box is completely out of date and will
not function with a new card, nor will it allow reception of the radio
channels or those above 500 in the EPG.

The first thing to do before re-using this digibox is to remove any
card in the slot. The first thing to do once it is connected to a
working dish is to update the firmware. Then he can insert a
previously activated "house" card which should wake up within 12
hours.


Yep you are quite correct Jom. Thanks for pointing that out.


  #9  
Old November 24th 06, 10:44 PM posted to uk.media.tv.sky
Nolan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6
Default Refitting old Sky Equip

On what channel should I leave the box for the blue house card to wake up?

"^^artnada^^" schreef in bericht
k...
In ,
Jomtien quipped in an almost smooth criminal way:
^^artnada^^ wrote:

Your software will be old but would still work.


The firmware in a 2-year old box is completely out of date and will
not function with a new card, nor will it allow reception of the radio
channels or those above 500 in the EPG.

The first thing to do before re-using this digibox is to remove any
card in the slot. The first thing to do once it is connected to a
working dish is to update the firmware. Then he can insert a
previously activated "house" card which should wake up within 12
hours.


Yep you are quite correct Jom. Thanks for pointing that out.




  #10  
Old November 25th 06, 08:35 AM posted to uk.media.tv.sky
Jomtien
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 749
Default Refitting old Sky Equip

Nolan wrote:

On what channel should I leave the box for the blue house card to wake up?


Any.

--
Digibox problem? : A reboot solves 90% of these.
The Sky Digital FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/8vef5
UK TV overseas: http://tinyurl.com/6p73
BBC/ITV reception trouble? ; http://www.astra2d.com/
----
Only the truth as I see it.
No monies return'd. ;-)
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 HomeCinemaBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.